My first show

My first retail was a complete success!

I had a table at the Greater Lowell Chamber of Commerce Showcase and Expo at the Radisson in Chelmsford, MA . It was an event of more than 100 local business and it was free and open to the public. I met other local artists, got to talk to my new neighbors from the Western Ave Studios, and actually sold a few pieces.

 

I can’t believe I actually sold something. Someone is actually going to hang one of my pictures on their wall. HA! Somehow, also, 50 of my business cards got swiped up from the table. Just about everyone who walked by took one. No one takes business cards. Even better, when people asked if I had a studio, I could say “Yes, I do. I just started to move in yesterday and will be open for Open Studios the first Saturday in November.”

Full steam ahead!

Also, I installed my first public art project since college on Wednesday. It is for The Cultural Organization of Lowell’s A Spontaneous Display of Sustainability | Public Art Project . They provided at bag of recycled goodies and I had to make something out of it. Here is what I came up with.

It was originally installed on Market Street in Lowell in front of the Mill Girls, but somehow, someone moved it across the street to in front of the Athenian Corner. I have no idea who moved it or why. I might move it back and see what happens. At least it wasn’t stolen. The reception for the event is at the ALL studio at 117 Merrimack St.
Lowell, MA on Saturday the 29th from 5-6:30pm with a silent auction of the works from 6:30-9pm with the proceeds going to the public art fund of Lowell. If you are in the area, you show stop by and everything. It’s impressive.

I’ve got to finish painting the studio now. I’ll post some pic spam later tonight or early tomorrow. So far, I love it!

About pikate

Graphic Designer Photographer
This entry was posted in Lowell, Photography, Western Avenue Studios and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

