Will I ever?

With 6 weeks left before I move to NYC, I’ve been thinking about what it would be like living there, in the middle of it all. I am still having a hard time wrapping my head around it. There won’t be any more day or weekend trips packing in as much as I can see and do into those few short hrs. I will be there all the time and now that I’m going to be a student, most of it will be free or really cheap to do.

Then I start thinking, will I ever be a “New Yorker” or will I always be some sort of interloper posing as one. Then again, most “New Yorkers” aren’t from NYC. They have all come from all over the world to make a better life for themselves in such an inspiring place. So, that makes me feel a little better.

I’ve also taken up walking as much possible. I walk at lunch, I walk to the gym, CVS, the farmers market, and the coffee shop. I have to get used to not getting in may car and just going somewhere. Gotta start prepping my legs for all of the work that’s ahead of them. I think I might buy a pedometer. That way I can find out how far I walk to get to class. I wonder how many miles it will be.

I’m going to leave you with a few images of me attempting to be a New Yorker. So how did I do?

     


The top two were take almost 2 years apart. The first was me on my first trip to NYC and the second was this past Spring after I was accepted to Pratt. I’m having a celebratory, carrot cake cupcake. Dean and Deluca’s are the best I have ever had.

About pikate

Graphic Designer Photographer
This entry was posted in New York City, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

