First Impressions

Yesterday, I visited Pratt Brooklyn for the very first time! I went with my friend, Roya It is so beautiful and the bookstore is a dream. The campus reminds me of DeCordova sculpture park in Lincoln, MA. There is a sculpture garden in half of the lawn of the campus. Some of them are permanent, like the cannon, and some of them consist of student work. I can’t believe that I am actually going to get to live there!

While walking around I saw 3 girls walking across campus with one of the largest pieces of foam core I have ever seen and no one gave them a second look. Well, not until the wind picked up and they were starting to have trouble controlling the thing.

The bookstore almost overwhelmed me. It’s not really a bookstore, but an art supply store. It has everything from pastels and sketchbooks to sheet metal and designer spray paint. It is almost as good as what Charrette was. I got my “Property of Pratt Institute” sweatshirt, a t-shirt, car decals for my parents, and a sketchbook. I wanted to buy more stuff, but decided it was better to wait until I get there. Soon. Very, very, soon!!

After leaving Pratt, Roya and I went to Dean and Deluca’s in Soho for a celebratory carrot cupcake for me and fudge brownie for her. Those cupcakes are the best carrot cake anything I have ever had! The cake is moist and there is just enough tangy, cream cheese frosting. I have it with a small, black, strong cup of coffee. Perfection.

I can’t believe that this is going to part of my new home. That, and for the first time in my life, there are no obstacles in my way. There is nothing to keep me from doing me very best. It’s both thrilling and terrifying. I know who I am going to be entering the Grad CommD program, but I have no idea who I am going to be on the other side.

I can’t wait to get started. May the games begin.

About pikate

Graphic Designer Photographer
This entry was posted in New York City, Pratt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

